This happens when saving a photo to the jpeg format. Lossy compression reduces a file by permanently eliminating certain information, especially when redundant. This may degrade the image slightly and you will not see the changes until you reopen the file.
I try to save an image and I get a message “Saving to a lossy file may cause changes to image data. These changes will not reflect in the image until you reopen it.” What does this mean? (KB035014)
Modified on: Tue, Jun 10, 2014 at 10:03 AM
Did you find it helpful?
Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?